Fit Life Adventure

An Ordinary Woman's Journey of Surviving Obesity

Radio Active

3 Comments

 

Radio

Accomplishing my goal of crossing the finish line after running my first 5K race already had me on cloud nine but to top it all off, the day after, I was contacted by the head organizer of the run, Chris Uszynski. He also happens to host a radio show called “Running Flat Radio”(this link will take you to my interview- it is the second half of the show if you want to find it quick to have a listen!) on a local station, AM800, here in Windsor. He extended me an offer to be interviewed about my weight loss journey and first time running experience on his show! To tell you I was shocked would be an understatement. I am not the first person in history to lose a lot of weight and sign up for a 5k. I say quite frequently how I don’t consider myself all that unique and I am certain there would be better people out there to do this. Yet, I found myself gleefully saying “YES!”

Oddly, this is actually the second time in under a year that I have been asked to be on AM800. The first time was being interviewed about my love of painting pumpkins. It is extremely strange how my passions keep getting me public notice, but somehow they do. (Now if I could just work out a way to get them to interview me about my decade long, small business, then we’d be getting somewhere!)

It was really fun to talk about my October painting hobby, but getting to talk about my weight loss journey, in such a public forum, meant a little bit more. Carrying the power of influence is a big deal to me. Being provided such a large platform to speak about my experiences and potentially inspire someone listening had my stomach doing back flips before I went live on the air.

I took a deep breath and before I knew it, the interview was over. I felt fairly confident in how it went. I don’t think I lost my words or train of thought. Even though it was my own personal story I was telling, I am so neurotic sometimes that I had nearly convinced myself I was going to botch the whole thing. Thankfully my husband called me minutes after it ended to tell me I sounded great! The feedback I continued to get afterwards was very touching. I don’t really need that validation, but it means so much to me that people have taken time out of their day to send me a quick “thank you”.

Someone even referred to me as a health activist. By definition, these are leaders who work daily to improve the way people talk and think about health. Now I am not really into titles and I am a far cry from any sort of “leader”, but my actions that day did help to raise awareness and empowerment for those who are overweight or obese. But it isn’t just about weight loss. Yeah, that is my struggle in life, but anything going on in yours that you think you can’t overcome, you can!

The take away from my interview is that everything in life is possible. It isn’t all easy, but come on, nothing worth having ever is. The power that we all have inside of us is the power of belief. I wake up in the morning and believe that I am a healthy, fit woman. I pick foods to eat that are healthy. I exercise to be fit. I live the life of a healthy, fit woman. The secret is I chose to start doing that at 300 lbs. I believed it and now I am it.

Author: fitlifeadventure

New health and fitness nut!

3 thoughts on “Radio Active

  1. Hello! I recently nominated you for the Liebster award. I hope you will accept. Check it out here…Liebster Award… – free2bme27
    https://free2bme27.wordpress.com/2016/05/24/liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

